This Charming Man by Marian Keyes

September 13, 2010

If you are already a fan of Marian Keyes, you are going to love This Charming Man as an entertaining and compelling audio book. The first thing that sticks out about this story is that it is told from the point of view of four very different women. If you are someone that has a hard time keeping up with one character, you are going to remain riveted throughout this entire novel because four different women tell totally diverse aspects of the same story.

The story revolves around the Charming Man named Paddy De Courcy, who is a political leader in Ireland. Not only that, but he is also an unfaithful heartbreaker, and he has encountered and impacted the lives of four different women within this novel. You will meet a stylist named Lola, a hard edge reporter named Grace, a mother and housewife with serious emotional problems named Marnie, and a quiet, mousy woman named Alice. All of these women have been impacted by Paddy in some way, and the novel begins as they all learn of his new marriage.

The best part of this novel is that you can expect the unexpected. If you are sick of reading chick lit stories with an entirely predictable ending, you will appreciate the fact that you will have a difficult time foreseeing the ending of this tale. Of course, there is humor, romance, and an interesting storyline, but there is also the dark side of domestic violence woven throughout the story. Keyes has a wonderful talent for tackling tough subjects and still making them endearing to the reader, which is exactly what you will find within this novel.

If you are looking for something different from your average women’s fiction, this is the perfect choice to get you started. It has a lighthearted, whimsical feel with a serious theme so that it will be difficult for you to tear yourself away once you start listening!

For a great selection of Bunn coffee maker filters, check out Bethany Ramos’ website, The Coffee Bump.

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: